In BGG threads I've seen some mentions that supposedly I can play a Surprise during my turn but use the "Out of turn" action. Is this actually true?
The language on the card says:
This card can be played at any time, for one of the functions described below, or to cancel a Surprise...
So it's quite clear I can play it at any time to cancel a Surprise.
And it's quite clear I can play it at any time for one of the functions described below, but in that case it appears there are 2 different cases, and we would see which case applies, and apply that case ("Out of turn" or "During your turn")... so I was rather surprised to read that supposedly you can choose the "Out of turn" function during your turn.
Is there any official ruling/clarification on this? Thanks!
i am 100% sure you cannot play the out-of-turn portion when it is your turn..
however, you can use the surprise's out-of-turn as a reaction to someone's action.
i have read somewhere here, Andrew said something about canceling a surprise w/ a surprise is considered meta-out-of-turn.
but to make it slightly more official, take a look at this..
go to page 2, 5th question from the bottom..
the excerpt from that is: "In general, you can't use the out-of-turn portion of a Surprise during your turn..."
i think that's official enough, since it comes from one of the rule sheet.
Aha, thanks for the useful info from Oz Fluxx rules about Surprises!