I created a my first pyramid game over the course of the past week -- and finally got to play test and tweak the rules tonight. Now the rules are online and ready for others to examine. Freeze Tag can be played by 2, 3 or 4 players with an Ice Dice set and some sort of 5x5 grid (a Volcano Board is perfect, but not necessary).

 

If you want to play, check out Freeze Tag.

 

Hope you like it!!

 

Rink

 

Views: 588

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

As one of last nights playtesters I can report - this game is AWESOME!  

I have not even read the written rules, and they will need to be formatted once they are final before I will have a chance to vote on this - but I would be proud to be the first Starship Captain to say YES this belongs on the MORE GAMES list. I already put it on my Starship Captain list and can't wait to play it again. 

wowie man, strong praise!  I'll play it as soon as I can!

I haven't had a chance to play yet, but from reading the rules, I have one question.

 

When you move a large onto a medium, the medium can't be yours. But then can you put that medium piece onto one of your smalls?

Ooh.. good question. We didn't think of that. My first instinct is to say you can because it is a legal move for that other piece - but I wonder if that makes it too powerful? It would definitely make capturing a medium very appealing if you have a small that is not already on another piece.

 

The way we saw it work in our games last night was that you could both move the piece of someone getting close to the edge while also freezing another person's piece also near the edge. It worked well to tackle two of your opponents at the same time.

We tried this on Friday night and each game of 4 players had at one or two of these 'capture a medium and therefore force move your own small anywhere on the board' - but it didn't necessarily mean you won. It didn't seem to be too powerful. Let me know what you think if you play.

Looks interesting.  I have some rules lawyery questions about the "you must use all moves if able" rule.

 

For all of these scenarios, assume all the pieces of your color are off the board or frozen except for Small-1, Small-2, and Large-1.

Scenario 1: Small-1 is one space away from Large-1.  Die roll: Large+Small.

Question 1: Is it legal to move Small-1 onto Large-1, thus making it impossible move Large-1?  Or must you move Large-1 first so that you can use both moves?

Scenario 2: Small-1 has Large-1 frozen.  Die roll: Large+Small.

Question 2: Is it legal to first fail to move a large (because there are no legal moves) and then move Small-1?  Or must you move Large-1 if you move Small-1?

Scenario 3: Small-1 has Large-1 frozen.  Die roll: Large+Small.

Question 3: Is it legal to move Small-2, leaving Large-1 frozen and giving you no legal large moves?  Or must you move Small-1 first so you can use both moves?

Jeff,

 

Great questions! Let me know if these answers all make sense.

 

Scenario 1: Small-1 is one space away from Large-1.  Die roll: Large+Small.
Question 1: Is it legal to move Small-1 onto Large-1, thus making it impossible move Large-1?  Or must you move Large-1 first so that you can use both moves?

ANSWER: It is legal to use the moves in whatever order you want. I will update the rules accordingly.

Scenario 2: Small-1 has Large-1 frozen.  Die roll: Large+Small.
Question 2: Is it legal to first fail to move a large (because there are no legal moves) and then move Small-1?  Or must you move Large-1 if you move Small-1?

ANSWER: If you move the Small 1 that is on top of the Large-1 and then it is possible to move the Large-1 you must move it. You can't say "I try to take my Large move first, but I can't .. then I move the small"

Scenario 3: Small-1 has Large-1 frozen.  Die roll: Large+Small.
Question 3: Is it legal to move Small-2, leaving Large-1 frozen and giving you no legal large moves?  Or must you move Small-1 first so you can use both moves?

ANSWER: it is legal to move Small-2 leaving Large-1 frozen. I will have to figure out how to state clearly that you need not move so as to enable your ability to use both moves, rather if your first move leaves you with the ability to then move take your second move - you must... but there is no requirement that you MUST make the move that will let you then take the 2nd move.

I am about to update one minor thing with the game... rather than having a different setup for 2 player vs 3 & 4 player, we have tried it such that each of the 2 player positions will be the same layout as a player in the 3 & 4 player versions. In the center three positions of each of two opposing sides of the board, each player will (from right to left) have a stack of two large pyramids, a stack of two medium pyramids and a stack of two small pyramids.

 

See the wiki for the update: Freeze Tag.

 

Please let me know if you find any issues with this change. It will make it easier to document and teach, with no noticeable difference in play.

Played a few two-player games of this for the first time this evening. It was elegant and fun. I like the way it makes economical use of the IceDice materials.

Glad you like it! I actually prefer the 3 and 4 player versions, but happy to know that you found the 2 player version fun.

Really neat little game.  One question:  if I am relocating an opponent's medium, may I place it on the same opponent's small and relocate it as well?  My guess is, no, because that would not be a legal move for him, but it is not explicit in the rules that I may not do it.  I am assuming that I  may place his small atop any of his other pieces, or his medium atop his medium or large pieces, since those are legal moves for him..

Great question Mark! I think you are right. You can only relocate a piece in a way that would be a 'legal' move for that relocated piece.

Happy to hear you are enjoying the game.

RSS

Photos

Loading…
  • Add Photos
  • View All

© 2014   Created by Ning Administrator.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service